Week in Review: March 19, 2014

March 24, 2014

This week left me feeling really bummed about comic books, which is weird because I have been actually rather rejuvenated about comic books and the medium after watching this really sweet little youtube video about Frank Quitely (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5IKI4ggCYoA). Sigh…

American Vampire: Second Cycle #1 (Vertigo)

I have always heard that American Vampire is a great book. Scott Snyder has certainly gotten a ton of people excited about Batman again, so I thought I would give this a shot. I really had a hard time getting into it honestly. I don’t know if it has to do with not really being familiar with this world, but I clearly need to have some previous knowledge before reading this book in order to understand it. I thought this would be a little more forgiving, but I just couldn’t get a feel for anything going on in this one. If you have read the earlier books you will probably love it, but if you haven’t, probably a solid borrow. BORROW

Winter Soldier #2 (Marvel)

This was a solid book. I was hoping we would actually see the Winter Soldier tracking the escaped party through the woods for an entire issue, but a good old-fashioned train ride is what we got. I’m still into it, and I have to say the actual storytelling that Boschi is able to tell with his panels is really fun. I like the variety and he is clearly aware of what he is doing. Also, bonus points for a villain that is clearly modeled after David Bowie. One annoying thing I am noticing is that the cover artist keeps giving the main character a mustache on the covers, where he doesn’t have any facial hair in the actual book. Let’s get that straightened out, yeah? BUY

B.P.R.D. Hell on Earth #117 (Dark Horse)

I feel bad reviewing this book because I really don’t care about B.P.R.D. at all, but James Harren’s interiors are really cool, and I’m glad to see him going all-out here. You know what you are going to get with this book. Monsters, guns, and guts. Need I say more? As a fan of Harren, I have to buy this book, but from an actual critical point of view, the story has me pretty lost as a newbie reading this book. BUY for the art, BORROW for the story.

Animal Man #29 (DC)

Once upon a time I read Animal Man with a great appreciation. I thought Lemire was bringing a great sentimentality that is sorely missing in so many mainstream comics, and Travel Foreman’s art was ground-breaking. Two years later, this run is coming to an end, and Foreman came back for half of the issue, with Lemire drawing the other half. First of all, as far as send-offs go, this issue reflects far too much on the run itself, recounting issues 1-28 through a child’s eyes. Sappy, heavy-handed, and frankly a letdown of an issue, I just felt like they made this one because they had to. Foreman’s art was oddly rushed looking, and it also felt like he didn’t really need to be a part of this story. I was more pissed off than anything after reading this issue, but it is an end of a chapter, so whatever. BORROW

Daredevil #1 (Marvel)

Waid and Samnee continue their Daredevil run, and while I don’t have anything against this Daredevil title, it certainly isn’t presenting me with much to really dig into. The art is great, and it’s not the worst thing I have read, it just feels like more of the same from Waid concerning Daredevil. In fact, it makes me miss Bendis’ run a little bit, which certainly kept escalating and upping the stakes. Waid’s run seems to have plateaued. I was hoping to hop on this bandwagon since I missed the first run a few years ago, but alas, this is one bandwagon I feel like I can afford to miss. BORROW

Thor: God of Thunder #20 (Marvel)

Galactus and Thor sharing a panel together on a desolate Earth, that’s really all I need at this point. There is this Captain Planet-vibe from the rest of the story, and sure, “Earth Awareness” and all that, but really, I just want to see Galactus and Thor throw down. That’s all you have to show my right now, Jason Aaron, and I am happy. We can get plot and story later…Just so long as there is a fight. BUY

Leave a Reply

